Michelle Keegan

Michelle Keegan

'Coronation Street' leads the nominations for the 2013 British Soap Awards.

The ITV show has a total of 18 nods, including Best British Soap, shortly followed by 'EastEnders' with 17, Hollyoaks with 16, fellow ITV show 'Emmerdale' with 14 and nine for daytime programme 'Doctors'.

Michelle Keegan - who plays Weatherfield's Tina McIntyre - is up for two nominations this year. She will battle it out for Sexiest Female against her co-star Georgia May Foote, EastEnders' Jacqueline Jossa, Emmerdale's Natalie Anderson and 'Hollyoaks' babe Jorgie Porter.

Michelle will also go up against co-star Jennie McAlpine, 'EastEnders' pair Jessie Wallace and Nina Wadia, as well as Hollyoaks' Claire Cooper for the Best Actress accolade.

Coronation Street's Alan Halsall is in the running for Best Actor against EastEnders' Nitin Ganatra and Shane Richie, Emmerdale's Jeff Hordley and Hollyoaks' Emmet J. Scanlan, who is also up for Villain of the Year.

Emmet faces stiff competition from Coronation Street's Natalie Gumede and Nigel Havers, 'EastEnders' bad boy Jamie Foreman and Emmerdale's Dominic Power.

'Hollyoaks' takes the lead in the Sexiest Male category with two nominations for Danny Mac and Kieron Richardson, who are up against Coronation Street's Tommy Duckworth, EastEnders' David Witts and Emmerdale's Matthew Wolfenden.

In addition to the five main accolades, the nominations for the panel-voted categories have also been revealed by the organisers today (22.04.13).

These include Best Newcomer, Best On-Screen partnership - which sees Alan and Jennie up for another award for Tyrone and Fiz's relationship - and Best Comedy Performance.

There will also be the Special Achievement and Lifetime Achievements at the event, which are expected to be announced during the ceremony.

Voting is currently open for viewer categories on the British Soap Awards website and will remain open until the night, Friday May 17.

The full list of nominations are as follows:

Sexiest Male

Chris Fountain (Tommy Duckworth, 'Coronation Street')

David Witts (Joey Branning, 'EastEnders')

Matthew Wolfenden (David Metcalfe, 'Emmerdale')

Danny Mac (Dodger Savage, 'Hollyoaks')

Kieron Richardson (Ste Hay, 'Hollyoaks')

Sexiest Female

Georgia May Foote (Katy Armstrong, 'Coronation Street')

Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre, 'Coronation Street')

Jacqueline Jossa (Lauren Branning, 'EastEnders')

Natalie Anderson (Alicia Gallagher, 'Emmerdale')

Jorgie Porter (Theresa McQueen, 'Hollyoaks')

Villain of the Year

Natalie Gumede (Kirsty Soames, Coronation Street)

Nigel Havers (Lewis Archer, Coronation Street)

Jamie Foreman (Derek Branning, EastEnders)

Dominic Power (Cameron Murray, Emmerdale)

Emmett J. Scanlan (Brendan Brady, Hollyoaks)

Best Actor

Alan Halsall (Tyrone Dobbs, 'Coronation Street')

Nitin Ganatra (Masood Ahmed, 'EastEnders')

Shane Richie (Alfie Moon, 'EastEnders')

Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle, 'Emmerdale')

Emmett J. Scanlan (Brendan Brady, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Actress

Jennie McAlpine (Fiz Stape, 'Coronation Street')

Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre, 'Coronation Street')

Jessie Wallace (Kat Moon, 'EastEnders')

Nina Wadia (Zainab Khan, 'EastEnders')

Claire Cooper (Jacqui McQueen, 'Hollyoaks')

Best British Soap

'Coronation Street'





Best Newcomer

Marc Baylis (Rob Donovan, 'Coronation Street')

Ian Midlane (Doctor Al Haskey, 'Doctors')

Khali Best (Dexter Hartman, 'EastEnders')

Laura Norton (Kerry Wyatt, 'Emmerdale')

Joseph Thompson (Doctor Paul Browning, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Exit

Nigel Havers (Lewis Archer, 'Coronation Street')

Lu Corfield (Freya Wilson, 'Doctors')

Jamie Foreman (Derek Branning, 'EastEnders')

Tom Lister (Carl King, 'Emmerdale')

Emmett J. Scanlan (Brendan Brady, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Comedy Performance

Patti Clare (Mary Taylor, 'Coronation Street')

Ian Kelsey (Howard Bellamy, 'Doctors')

Ricky Norwood (Arthur 'Fatboy' Chubb, 'EastEnders')

Dominic Brunt (Paddy Kirk, 'Emmerdale')

Nicole Barber-Lane (Myra McQueen, 'Hollyoaks')

Best On-Screen Partnership

Jennie McAlpine and Alan Halsall (Fiz Stape and Tyrone Dobbs, 'Coronation Street')

Matthew Chambers and Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Doctor Daniel Granger and Doctor Zara Carmichael, 'Doctors')

Nitin Ganatra and Nina Wadia (Masood Ahmed and Zainab Khan, 'EastEnders')

Lucy Pargeter and Dominic Power (Chas Spencer and Cameron Murray, 'Emmerdale')

Emmett J. Scanlan and Kieron Richardson (Brendan Brady and Ste Hay, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Dramatic Performance

Natalie Gumede (Kirsty Soames, 'Coronation Street')

Dido Miles (Doctor Emma Reid, 'Doctors')

Jo Joyner (Tanya Cross, 'EastEnders')

Lucy Pargeter (Chas Spencer, 'Emmerdale')

Claire Cooper (Jacqui McQueen, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Young Performance

Ellie Leach (Faye Windass, 'Coronation Street')

Maisie Smith (Tiffany Butcher, 'EastEnders')

Eden Taylor-Draper (Belle Dingle, 'Emmerdale')

Ellis Hollins (Tom Osborne, 'Hollyoaks')

Spectacular Scene of the Year

The Rovers fire ('Coronation Street')

Julia's car crash ('Doctors')

The Olympic torch comes live to Walford ('EastEnders')

Cain's clifftop rescue of Zak ('Emmerdale')

The bus crash ('Hollyoaks')

Best Episode

Kirsty's treachery ends in Tyrone's arrest ('Coronation Street')

'The Scales' ('Doctors')

The identity of Kat's lover is revealed ('EastEnders')

'Emmerdale Live' ('Emmerdale')

The bus crash ('Hollyoaks')

Best Storyline

Kirsty's abuse of Tyrone ('Coronation Street')

Sam's assisted suicide ('Doctors')

The demise of Derek Branning ('EastEnders')

Zak's depression ('Emmerdale')

Esther's bullying ('Hollyoaks')