Lewis Hamilton is among the nominees for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2019.

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton

The 34-year-old racing driver has made it onto the shortlist of the annual ceremony, which honours sporting superstars for their achievements over the last year.

Lewis - who is a previous winner of the prestigious gong, having picked it up in 2014 - has been nominated for his dominant year in Formula One, which saw him win his sixth world title, leaving him just one title behind legendary racer Michael Schumacher.

Alongside Lewis, footballer Raheem Stirling has also been nominated for his work with Manchester City, who claimed a domestic treble this year, winning the Premier League, the FA Cup, and the Carabao Cup.

Raheem was also part of the England squad that finished third at Nations League finals in the summer.

Also nominated is Welsh rugby star Alun Wyn Jones, who captained the Welsh rugby team to a Six Nations Grand Slam and the semi-finals of the Rugby World Cup in Japan earlier this year.

Alun was also nominated for World Rugby's Player of the Year award, which was won by Pieter-Steph du Toit of South Africa.

The nominees were announced throughout Monday (25.11.19), with athletics star Katarina Johnson-Thompson being the last name, as she was revealed during 'The One Show'.

Katarina has been nominated for the award after winning gold in the heptathlon at the World Championships in Doha in October, where she set a British record.

Earlier in the day, cricketer Ben Stokes and sprinter Dina Asher-Smith were revealed as the first two names up for the gong.

Ben - who played a vital role as he helped the national team to victory in the Cricket World Cup this year - was announced by Ed Sheeran, whilst grime star Stormzy revealed Dina was in the running.

Dina became the first British woman to win a major global sprint title when she captured the 200m gold at the World Championships in Doha, as she also set a new personal best and national record of 21.88 seconds.

The prestigious annual awards will take place at the P&J Live in Aberdeen on December 15 as the ceremony airs on BBC One at 7pm.

Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan are all set to return as hosts, with a public vote during the live show deciding who will be crowned Sports Personality of the Year.

BBC Sports Personality of the Year nominees:

Ben Stokes

Dina Asher-Smith

Raheem Stirling

Alun Wyn Jones

Lewis Hamilton

Katarina Johnson-Thompson