Jessica Plummer and Shelley King are among the stars who will do battle at this year's Inside Soap Awards.

EastEnders' Chantelle and Gray

EastEnders' Chantelle and Gray

The pair have been nominated in the Best Actress category for their respective performances as Coronation Street's Yasmeen Metcalfe, who has been abused by her husband Geoff Metcalfe (Ian Bartholomew) for months, and EastEnders' Chantelle Atkins, who has suffered years of abuse at the hands of her husband Gray Atkins (Toby Alexander-Smith), which ultimately resulted in the character's death in September.

The pair will be up against 'Hollyoaks' actress Jennifer Metcalfe, and Emmerdale's Natalie J. Robb in the category.

Ian's efforts as evil Geoff have also been recognised, as he is up for Best Actor alongside 'Emmerdale' star Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle), Hollyoaks' Ashley Taylor Dawson (Darren Osborne), and 'EastEnders' actor Max Bowden (Ben Mitchell).

'I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here!' star Jessica's former on-screen husband Toby is up for the Best Villain gong, but he will face stiff competition from Ian, Hollyoaks' Bobby Gordon (Toby Faroe) and Emmerdale's Mark Womack (DI Mark Malone).

As well as dark storylines, there have also been plenty of highs in Soapland, including Chas Dingle (Lucy Pargeter) giving birth to baby Eve in 'Emmerdale' in October 2019, and in the same month Corrie's Gemma Winter (Dolly-Rose Campbell) gave birth to quads.

Both of which are up for the Feel-Good Moment accolade, alongside Walford celebrating Pride in 'EastEnders', and Anna Passey's character Sienna Blake getting her twins back in 'Hollyoaks'.

And other positives amid the coronavirus pandemic will see the awarding of the Funniest Performance prize.

Hollyoaks' Jessamy Stoddart (Liberty Savage), Emmerdale's Lisa Riley (Mandy Dingle), EastEnders' Lorraine Stanley (Karen Taylor), and 'Corrie' actress Maureen Lipman (Evelyn Plummer) are all in contention for the gong.

However, due to the pandemic, the Inside Soap Awards ceremony will be aired virtually on the Inside Soap Facebook page and YouTube channel on Monday 23rd November.

Steven Murphy, editor of Inside Soap magazine, said: "The British public have perhaps relied on soaps more than ever this year, and that’s been reflected with the extremely high response we’ve had on the voting for the awards.

"Soaps have brought some form of normality to the lives of so many people in 2020 and, when you look at the finalists, there’s been no shortage of quality or drama.

"We look forward to welcoming fans from across the country for the virtual Inside Soap Awards ceremony next week.

"It will be a chance for soap viewers to re-live some of the best moments of the year and celebrate the superb actors that have graced our TV screens once again."

The Inside Soap Awards will take place virtually on Inside Soap’s Facebook and YouTube channel from 9pm on Monday 23rd November.

Inside Soap Awards 2020 nominations:


Best Actress

Jennifer Metcalfe (Mercedes McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Jessica Plummer (Chantelle Atkins, EastEnders)

Natalie J Robb (Moira Dingle, Emmerdale)

Shelley King (Yasmeen Metcalfe, Coronation Street)


Best Actor

Ashley Taylor Dawson (Darren Osborne, Hollyoaks)

Ian Bartholomew (Geoff Metcalfe, Coronation Street)

Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle, Emmerdale)

Max Bowden (Ben Mitchell, EastEnders)


Best Newcomer

Callum Kerr (George Kiss, Hollyoaks)

Jaz Deol (Kheerat Panesar, EastEnders)

Max Parker (Luke Posner, Emmerdale)

Mollie Gallagher (Nina Lucas, Coronation Street)


Best Villain

Bobby Gordon (Toby Faroe, Hollyoaks)

Ian Bartholomew (Geoff Metcalfe, Coronation Street)

Mark Womack (DI Mark Malone, Emmerdale)

Toby-Alexander Smith (Gray Atkins, EastEnders)


Funniest Performance

Jessamy Stoddart (Liberty Savage, Hollyoaks)

Lisa Riley (Mandy Dingle, Emmerdale)

Lorraine Stanley (Karen Taylor, EastEnders)

Maureen Lipman (Evelyn Plummer, Coronation Street)


Best Partnership

Dolly-Rose Campbell & Sam Aston (Gemma Winter & Chesney Brown, Coronation Street)

Imran Adams & Ross Adams (Mitchell Deveraux & Scott Drinkwell, Hollyoaks)

Kellie Bright & Danny Dyer (Linda & Mick Carter, EastEnders)

Lucy Pargeter & Dominic Brunt (Chas & Paddy Dingle, Emmerdale)


Best Show-Stopper

Cain Discovers Nate’s Secret On The Lake (Emmerdale)

The 35th Anniversary River Disaster (EastEnders)

Tony Rescued/Breda Dies (Hollyoaks)

Yasmeen Fights Back Against Geoff (Coronation Street)


Best Family

The Barlow-McDonalds (Coronation Street)

The Dingles (Emmerdale)

The McQueens (Hollyoaks)

The Taylors (EastEnders)


Feel-Good Moment

Chas Gives Birth To Baby Eve (Emmerdale)

Gemma Gives Birth To Quads (Coronation Street)

Sienna Gets Her Twins Back (Hollyoaks)

Walford Celebrates Pride (EastEnders)


Best Drama Star

Alex Walkinshaw (Adrian ‘Fletch’ Fletcher, Holby City)

Cathy Shipton (Lisa ‘Duffy’ Duffin, Casualty)

Derek Thompson (Charlie Fairhead, Casualty)

Rosie Marcel (Jac Naylor, Holby City)


Best Daytime Star

Bharti Patel (Ruhma Carter, Doctors)

Ray Meagher (Alf Stewart, Home and Away)

Stefan Dennis (Paul Robinson, Neighbours)


Best Daytime Soap


Home And Away



Best Soap

Coronation Street