Alex Turner says there is "no rush" for the Arctic Monkeys to start recording their next album.

Alex Turner

Alex Turner

The band - Alex, Matt Helders, Jamie Cook and Nick O'Malley - have not released an LP since their fifth studio effort 'AM' and the songwriter has been busy the last several months with his side project The Last Shadow Puppets with Miles Kane, who brought out there second album 'Everything You've Come To Expect' in March.

Alex has assured fans that he and the guys will reunite for a sixth record but he can't put a date on when that will be.

Asked about plans for a new Arctic Monkeys LP during an interview on UK station Radio X, he said: "No, there aren't really, Not yet. But there will be at some point. I mean, we'll see with that. No rush."

Alex, 30, also revealed that he and Miles will go their separate ways once festival season is over and they've completed the live commitments.

He said: "The plan was to end [The Last Shadow Puppets] at the end of the summer, and I think we'll stick to that."

During the Arctic Monkeys' hiatus, drummer Matt recorded the album 'Post Pop Depression' with Iggy Pop and Josh Homme.

The LP was released in March and they have been playing concerts in support of it.

As well as Iggy, Josh and Matt, 'Post Pop Depression' also features Dean Fertita, from Queens of the Stone Age, and the Dead Weather, on guitars and keyboards.