Amour dominated the National Society of Film Critics on Saturday (05Jan13), landing three of the top honours.

The film, which tells the story of an elderly couple struggling to cope after one of them suffers a stroke, won Best Picture, Best Director for Michael Haneke and Best Actress for 85-year-old Emmanuelle Riva.

Oscar front-runner Daniel Day-Lewis took home Best Actor at the annual prizegiving in New York for his portrayal of former U.S. President Abraham Lincoln in Lincoln, while the film's writer, Tony Kushner, won Best Screenplay.

The Best Supporting Actress award went to Amy Adams for her performance in The Master, while Matthew McConaughey earned the Best Supporting Actor award for Magic Mike.

The list of main winners is as follows Best Picture Amour Best Director Michael Haneke (Amour) Best Actor Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln) Best Actress Emmanuelle Riva (Amour) Best Supporting Actor Matthew McConaughey (Magic Mike) Best Supporting Actress Amy Adams (The Master) Best Screenplay Tony Kushner (Lincoln) Best Nonfiction Film The Gatekeepers Best Cinematography Mihai Malaimare, Jr. (The Master)